President Rodrigo Roa Duterte will lead the flag-raising and wreath-laying ceremonies at the Libingan ng mga Bayani, Taguig City on 28 August 2017, 8:30 a.m. in commemoration of National Heroes Day. 

This year’s commemorative program, with the theme, Taong Bayan: Ang Bagong Bayani ng Bayan” is led by the National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP) in coordination with other government agencies, local government units, and non-government organizations.

BGen Tirso A. Dolina AFP will lead the invocation, followed by the welcome remarks by Taguig City Mayor Maria Laarni Lopez-Cayetano and a message by NHCP Chairman Dr. Rene Escalante. President Duterte, the guest-of-honor, will then lead the awarding of Order of Lapu-Lapu to the fallen soldiers of Marawi. Thereafter, DND Secretary Delfin N. Lorenzana will introduce President Duterte, who will deliver a message.

The Order of Lapu-Lapu is a recognition given to officials, government personnel, and private individuals for their “invaluable service in relation to a campaign or advocacy of the president.”

The NHCP is the national government agency mandated to promote Philippine history through its museums, research and publication, and preserve the nation’s historical heritage through conservation and the marking of historic sites and structures.