On 12 June 2021, the nation will commemorate the 123rd anniversary of the Proclamation of Philippine Independence with the theme, “Kalayaan 2021: Diwa ng Kalayaan sa Pagkakaisa at Paghilom ng Bayan” (Spirit of Freedom in Unity and National Healing).

Simultaneous flag raising and wreath-laying rites will be conducted at 8:00 a.m. at the Rizal National Monument, Rizal Park, Manila; Museo ni Emilio Aguinaldo (Emilio Aguinaldo Shrine), in Kawit, Cavite; Pinaglabanan Shrine in San Juan City; Barasoain Church Historical Landmark in Malolos, Bulacan; Bonifacio National Monument in Caloocan City; Museo ng Kasaysayang Panlipunan ng Pilipinas (Museum of Philippine Social History) in Angeles, Pampanga; Mausoleo de los Veteranos de la Revoluccion in Manila North Cemetery, Manila; Liberty Shrine in  Lapulapu City, Cebu; Plaza Independencia in Cebu City; and Rizal Park in Davao City.

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte will lead the wreath-laying rites at the Bantayog nina Marcelo at Gregorio Del Pilar, Provincial Capitol, Malolos, Bulacan at 4:00 p.m. He will be joined by National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP) Chairman Rene R. Escalante, and Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) Chief of Staff Gen. Cirilito Sobejana. The event will be graced by Bulacan Governor Daniel R. Fernando, and Malolos Mayor City Gilbert T. Gatchalian. Wreath-laying rites will be followed by the conferment of the “Order of Lapu-Lapu Award” and a message to be delivered by President Duterte.   

Kalayaan 2021 commemorative programs are strictly limited to few attendees in compliance to the minimal health guidelines, and rules on social gatherings set by the Inter-agency Task Force. All are invited to visit the official NHCP website and Facebook page for details and to witness the event.

The National Steering Committee on National Observances have prepared various programs and services for the general public. For a complete list of these activities, the public may visit the NHCP website www.nhcp.gov.ph.

The NHCP is the national government agency mandated to promote and preserve Philippine historical heritage through research and publication, conservation, marking of historic sites and structures, and administration of national shrines and museums.