The National Historical Commission of the Philippines, City Government of Malolos, and Provincial Government of Bulacan will spearhead the wreath-laying rites for the commemoration of the 123rd anniversary of the Opening of the “Malolos Congress” at the Barasoain Church Historical Landmark, Malolos, Bulacan on 15 September 2021 at 8:00 a.m.

Bulacan Governor Daniel R. Fernando will lead the wreath-laying ceremony and will be witnessed by Bulacan Vice Governor Wilhelmino M. Sy-Alvarado, National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP) Chief Finance and Administrative Officer Rosario Sapitan, Malolos Mayor Gilbert T. Gatchalian, Malolos Vice Mayor Noel G. Pineda, and Philippine National Police (PNP-Bulacan) PCol Lawrence B. Cajipe

The event will be attended by few personalities adhering to the IATF rules on social gathering. The public is invited to visit NHCP website and official Facebook page for the details of the event.

The Malolos Congress was first opened on 15 September 1898 to draw a constitution for the First Philippine Republic. The Congress elected its set of officers, namely, Pedro Paterno as President; Benito Legarda as Vice President; Gregorio Araneta as First Secretary; and Pablo Ocampo as Second Secretary. It ratified the first Philippine Constitution that eventually led to the proclamation of Philippine Independence.

NHCP is the national government agency mandated to promote Philippine History through its museums and publications, and preserve the nation’s historical heritage.